I just got an email after signing up for Wixi, which launched at TC40 today - looks like some guy called Arthur is not only my friend (no idea who this is and I never added anybody to my friends list on wixi), but would also like me to check out Rocky Balboa - not in the cinema, but on wixi.com. He would also like me to watch Lucky You

And, I can also embed the video on my blog here (I am sucker for a takedown notice, but I guess I better don’t actually do it). How long until Wixi is going to get into deep trouble for this? Or can they claim safe harbor under the DCMA? I guess as long as they don’t actively patrol the site and remove content until asked. Should be interesting. Or did Wixi license this content?

p.s. Wixi is a pretty bad name for the German market - it sounds like a diminutive for the German word for masturbation…

Technorati tags: , , , ,


Share This

Related Posts

Comments

1 Comment so far

  1. ThePete on September 24, 2007 7:45 pm

    Hey, did you find Wixi buggie at all? I signed up and before even getting an email confirmation found myself in someone else’s account (just clicked on “LOG IN”). The account belonged to some guy called Frederic. You can see a screencap here: http://urltea.com/1kpz

    Oh, and I think it’s DMCA–the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, not the DCMA. Though, it does make more sense that way since it’s a digital-copyright-related act and not a digital-millennium-related act. ^_^

Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

Speak your mind